Start Writing Fiction #futurelearn

Lynn Thompson Books

Lynn Thompson BooksMy first #backinschool class has come to an end. A friend of mine first introduced me to Future Learn. She had started taking Start Writing Fiction a few weeks before I signed up. She hasn’t become an author yet, but she is heading in that direction.

When she explained the free class to me my first thought was I’m already a fiction writer and author. Why would I need this class? I debated taking Start Writing Fiction for a while as I always seem to have so many other things on my plate. Curiosity got the better of me and I hopped over to the Future Learn website. The more I thought about it the more I figured I really didn’t have anything to lose. After all, authors are just works in progress right? 

I did have four weeks of work to catch up on. And I already had much of this information tucked away somewhere in my brain. But I have come out of this course with extra knowledge and I have had a chance to fine-tune my writing.

Some of the subjects covered in Start Writing Fiction:

WEEK 1: STARTING TO WRITE FICTION- Characters, Observation, Journals

WEEK 2: THE HABIT OF WRITING- Discover, Unique, Prepare

WEEK 3: WRITING IS EDITING- Drafting, Editing, Something New

WEEK 4: BUILDING YOUR STORY- Notebook Habit, Plot, Ideas

WEEK 5: CREATING CONVINCING CHARACTERS- Conflict, Characters, Exploring


WEEK 7: READING AS A WRITER- Reading, Practice, Feedback

WEEK 8: YOUR FINAL STORY- Reflect, Learn, Carry on Writing

Critiquing and reviewing other people’s stories was fun, plus I found that adding description and especially, editing that extra description, the stuff that really isn’t needed to be a great benefit.

All in all the course wasn’t that difficult or too time-consuming. I recommend it for any writer who is just starting out, writers who want more of a learning curve or, like me, any writer who may need a refresher course.


Author: lynnthompsonbooks

Lynn Thompson’s home is in the Land of Enchantment, and, yes, the land is enchanting. The skies are blue, the stars are bright., and there are beautiful panoramic landscapes surrounding her hometown. Lynn wades through the craziness of life to follow her true passion, writing fiction. You can find her, or not, trekking through the mountains, searching for fairies and vortexes, keeping her eye out for anything paranormal, or sitting in the hot springs in her spare time. Lynn doesn’t have a specific genre she writes in. Characters have a way of leading her stories. She follows. Lynn is also a sponge when it comes to knowledge. She’s always on the move to continue her education in writing, marketing, social media, digital media, and hopes to find the extra time to add some criminal investigation classes to her repertoire. Lynn has three novels out: Blake, Sterling, and Tarnished Gold. Blake is the beginning of Montana’s story. Her need for seclusion, at least, for one winter. She does not get what she wants. There is someone or something in the mountains stalking her, people keep showing up on her doorstep, and she meets Max. Max knows what is hunting Montana, but won’t tell her. Montana’s lack of trust in Max drives her to fix her own problems. If she had known what she’d be confronting that night, she never would have sedated Max. Sterling is the second novel in the Montana Dayton series. Montana moves to Florida hoping to escape her old life, and regain her normal life back, but her past has come back to haunt her. Not only does she start losing time, she continues to wake up every morning wearing gorgeous jewels and is surrounded by precious gems. She never remembers where, or who she’s getting the glittery baubles from and is hell bent to get back her memories and return the jewels. Afraid she has been out robbing houses in the middle of the night, she is determined to figure out what is happening on her own. That is until the dreams and the strong pull to explore the gulf. When she finally realizes she needs help, she is powerless to get it. Tarnished Gold is Sam’s story and will be coming out around the new year. Sam first appeared in Sterling and demanded her own novel. Lynn has bowed to Sam’s wishes and is writing that story now. Lynn is also the proud owner of: Dark Fates. Eight short stories that are fun, but still on the dark side. Dark Fates-Madness. Four dark short stories. News Worthy. News Worthy stands alone with five short stories. Watching the news first thing in the morning may not be fun, but dissecting news clips and re-writing them into short stories that had a different ending was a blast! Dark Fates Collections is compiled of Dark Fates, Dark Fates-Madness, News Worthy, and features Karma Shay’s adventures. Visit Lynn at: Website: Twitter: @lynnthompson8 Facebook: Goodreads:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: